Saturday, July 3, 2021

More ranting about rude and impatient drivers

A while back, I did a post on impatient drivers called, "Impatient Drivers: You are the absolute WORST!"  I thought I'd follow up from that with a few instances of other drivers and what they have done.  

I wanted to say that I have seen more rude and impatient drivers in my 10+ months since starting my new job than in any other 10 month stretch of my life.  It must be the routes I take.  I drive from Bothell to Woodinville each workday and then back.  It's almost a daily occurrence that I see a driver do something rude to me or other drivers, illegal, or both.  

Here are a few of the worst instances:
- I've had two drivers (so far) pass me from a right turn only lane.  Basically, there are three lanes at an intersection.  One is left turn only, one is straight (only), and one is right turn only.  At one of these types of intersections, I had a guy in a giant pickup go straight from the right turn only lane and use it to pass me.  I was so pissed.  I could tell he was using it to pass me on purpose.  There was another instance at a different intersection where someone passed me, but I could tell they were clueless and just thought the right lane was a straight lane as well.  I still honked at them, because they need to pay attention.  Even if you notice it at the very last second, you still have to turn right, and find your way around.  

- I've had so many drivers use a particular lane to pass me.  There's this one intersection where (on my way home), there's a right turn lane, but it is not a right turn only lane.  You can go straight as well, but the lane ends shortly after the intersection.  I wish I had a nickel for every time someone has passed me on this road.  This past week going home, four of the five days some asshole used the right lane to pass me.  It's a rule of thumb while driving that you're not supposed to pass people on the right.  If you go straight from this type of lane, you are not supposed to pass people, you are supposed to yield, signal (it's amazing how many people don't signal), and get in where you can.  You do not speed by everyone you can.  If you do, you are an absolute ASSHOLE.  There's someone that lives in our apartment complex that has done this to me THREE times.  I know he lives in my complex because I followed him home (not intentionally).  He ended up saving maybe two seconds, which is ridiculous.  Anyone that does this: please go re-evaluate your life choices and the type of person you are.

- I once had a speed battle with a giant truck.  I was going along a highway where the speed limit is either 45 or 50.  I got approached fairly fast by a giant Toyota pickup.  I increased my speed, but then so did him.  I kept increasing my speed, but so did him.  He eventually got to a speed of close to 85, 90 miles an hour just to pass me.  Why did he feel this need to pass me?  I only feel the need to pass slow moving vehicles, which I clearly was not.  My only theory is that this man must have the smallest penis in the world, and feels the need to drive like this to overcompensate.  

- I have now seen multiple people blatantly go through a red light.  It's one thing to speed up to a light as it turns yellow, it goes red, and you still gun it through the intersection.  I've done that a few times.  I think we all have.  But it's another to be sitting at an intersection and just blatantly go through a red light and not wait for it to turn green.  I've seen two people do this, both at left turns.  Yes, it was clear, but how can people be so impatient that they cannot wait for a light to turn green?  It's these instances that I wish so hard that a cop saw them and get sweet justice when I see them get pulled over.  But of course, that's never the case.  

To sum up, I've blasted my horn more in the past 10 months than I'd care to admit.  I'm not just going to accept people taking advantage of my (usually) safe and steady driving.  I've seen a lot of law breaking from speeding to not signaling to rolling stops to running red lights.  I swear, the Bothell and Woodinville police departments could make a fortune if they just put more traffic cops out, especially during rush hour.  I know I need to not let it bother me so much.  Sometimes I listen to a video or music and it's enough to distract me from rude drivers, but not always.

I just wish people would drive more courteously.  We all are trying to get someplace and in a timely fashion.  The needs of these assholes that have been rude drivers are not superior to mine or anyone else's.  99.9% of the time these guys are just dicks, and it is not an emergency.  Please, if you are reading this, just drive courteously and don't pass people just because they're in your way.  Don't do anything illegal and put yourself and others in danger.  Just be nice to each other on the road.  Thank you.