So, on this blog I post a bit about work at Safeway, and this will be no different. However, I'm going more in depth and making more than just a list of some kind. I've been put in a position at work that I'm not happy with, and there's not a whole lot I can do. There are a few things I can do, but they all have reasons why not to do them. I'll explain later.
At the end of October/beginning of November our previous front end manager quit and got another job. I was her backup at the time. I had previously told her that I didn't like doing the position, but she kept me as her backup anyway. After she left, I was thrust into the role of doing the front end manager position five days a week, a shift I didn't even like doing two days a week. Apparently, I do too good of a job at it.
Why don't I like it? It's stressful at times for one. Even just falling behind on giving people breaks stresses me out (maybe not as much as it used to). But the stressful part is having to deal with situations and customers that I either A) Don't know how to resolve too well or B) Give me anxiety because it is THAT stressful. But I think I could handle that if I had to. The biggest reason I'd say I don't like it is the hours. 10-7. EVERY DAY. Well every day you work that is. That's 9 hours of your day, not counting the couple hours of getting ready, transportation, etc. I even have to stay late sometimes because someone called out sick or it's really busy (fall behind on breaks). I just hate those hours because it doesn't give me a ton of time to do anything else that particular day. I wake up, get ready for work then go to work. I get home, I eat dinner, and then before I know it, it's 9 o'clock and I'm drowsy. Welp, there went my ENTIRE FRICKEN DAY.
I must add that I was not asked to fill in my previous front end manager's position. I was not asked if it was ok if I filled in while they found a full-time replacement. I was only asked to take the position officially, which I have repeatedly declined.
So, I'm going to make a list of what you might be suggesting I do. Here they are:
1) Ask to not get scheduled as FEM anymore
2) Find another job/quit
3) Do such a bad job at FEM that they have no choice but to demote you.
Here's why I have yet to do any of those three:
1) Our store doesn't have many other options for the position. The two people who have been covering my days off would not want to do it five times, and I'm pretty sure one of them would quit if forced to do it five days a week. The other does too many other things including night Person in Charge. Also, if I were to ask to not be scheduled, they don't have to listen to me.
2) I have been looking at other jobs, actually. I have applied for four so far I think, but none have gotten back to me. I'd apply for more, but I have limited time and most of my time is spent looking for something that suits me well. I also don't want to quit before finding another job, because I don't want to be unemployed and I need a stable income.
3) I have kinda tried doing this. But I do care about our store, having worked there over nine years. I made a silly intercom announcement that pissed my manager off, but that's it. I've ignored what they've asked me to do. My managers keep insisting that I make my checkers ask for hunger bag donations for the needy and that I ask myself, but I refuse to do so. Doesn't matter. I feel like the action required to get demoted from FEM would also be bad enough to be suspended/terminated, and I can't risk that. I've started being late recently, but only my head bookkeeper has noticed.
However, there (hopefully) is a light at the end of the tunnel. I found out from one of my coworkers that applied for the position herself that our manager will make a decision on the new Front End Manager, but after the holidays (oy). I haven't heard of anyone applying but her, and I'm being totally honest, I don't think my manager wants her as FEM. But if he has no other choice, what can he do? I'm sure he'll try reaching out to other stores. So if I can just make it through the holidays, I should be ok.
So my plan is to tough it out going into 2019. My two big New Years Resolutions will be to get a new job and to lose weight. If by mid January (my birthday), I'm still getting scheduled as Front End Manager, I'm going to spend all of my free time working towards another job. If I absolutely have to, I'll stay in retail/customer service. But if my manager continues to postpone his search for a new FEM (after the holidays), I'm either going to put my foot down and request to not work that shift, or I'll be spending all of my free time looking for another job.
Wish me luck. I'm hoping to not make it to my ten year anniversary with Safeway (which would be in April). But if I get put in a better position, I might ride it out a tad longer. Time will tell.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment