Tuesday, June 11, 2019

Impatient Drivers: YOU ARE THE ABSOLUTE WORST

I would have to say impatient drivers are one of my biggest pet peeves.  Impatient people in general, but I can be impatient at times (usually with technology or inanimate objects i.e. slow internet).  But to me, impatient drivers are scum of the earth.  They are the lowest of the low.  They are the crap that crap craps.  Why do I think this?  Glad you asked.

To get from one destination to another it takes time.  The amount of time it takes depends on your method of travel.  Walking takes a long time compared to driving, riding a bike, or flying in a plane, for example.  What impatient drivers fail to realize is that driving from Point A to Point B takes time.  You can't hop over cars, as much as I know you'd like to, assholes.  You can't magically get cars to move out of your way like freaking Bruce Almighty.

Impatient drivers on the freeway/highway/interstate don't bother me quite as much as ones in commercial/residential areas.  On the freeway, fine, pass me.  Usually I won't care.  Sometimes I get my joy from blocking in someone who was speeding/tailgating, but more often than not I'll let them go.  No, the worst are commercial/residential impatient drivers.

The big difference between the two is traffic signals.  There are plenty of traffic signals in commercial and residential areas, but not many on interstates, if any.  So when someone has to pass me, even though I am going a bit OVER the speed limit, just to get one car length ahead at the next light, you can understand why that gets under my skin.  I wish I had a nickel for every time this happened: On a two-lane road, going approximately 5 MPH OVER the speed limit.  Someone comes up and rides my ass, then changes lane and passes me.  Often times they'll only get one or two cars ahead of me.  It's so sad that humankind has resorted to this level of impatience.  I have often responded by speeding up so they can't pass me, which does work sometimes.  Hey, if they can go that fast, so can I.  Any police officer in their right mind would pull over the other guy, because they sped first and more than myself.

Just the other day I was pulling out of a shopping area and turning right onto a fairly busy street.  It was just the start of the end of the work day for most people so traffic was fairly bad.  I waited for a while for an opening, about a minute tops.  Around halfway through this waiting someone pulled up behind me also looking to turn out.  So after a minute (may have been less), I see a small opening.  It's pretty small, mind you.  I decide not to risk it, seeing as everyone was driving 40 MPH or so.  Right as that small window was closing, the guy behind me blared on his horn.  I couldn't believe it.  I was so ticked off.  Even if I had gone and squeezed myself into that small window, he would certainly not have been able to.  How can someone be THAT impatient?

If you are one of these drivers, I absolutely despise you.  The road is a place for everyone, from 16-year-olds to the elderly.  Yet, you treat it like some sort of race track/obstacle course where every other car is just a nuisance.  Please reevaluate how you drive and consider others are trying to get to their destination in a timely fashion as well.  Or maybe, just realize that time is NOT money, and the most important thing is that you get to your destination safely and you don't put anyone else in danger in the process.  Thanks.


No comments:

Post a Comment