I've hit rock bottom. Being terminated from a retail job is just that. I hate that it happened and I hate myself for what I did. I want to go back in time and undo what I did. And I am about as depressed as I (hopefully) will ever be. Don't worry, I don't do self-harm. That's just stupid (IMO).
I'm lucky to have friends and family that care about me. A sister who is just the world's best sister. Parents who've done so much for me. And I made friends at my job, a lot of whom I may never see again (at least not on a regular basis anymore). I let everyone in my life down. It's the worst feeling. Part of me feels guilty, part of me feels wronged. What I did certainly merits punishment, but termination? I was hopeful that I'd be back in a limited or restricted role, but nope. It's just a terrible feeling. I want to scream, punch something, destroy everything.
I'm hoping in the end this'll turn out to be a blessing in disguise. Maybe if I hadn't made the mistakes that got me terminated, I would've been stuck at Safeway forever. I would not have wanted that. Numerous times in my ten years there I thought about leaving. I'd apply for a job once in a while, but nothing became of it. Since I had my job to fall back on, nothing urged me to go for another job. It will be nice to do something different. No longer will I have to help those asshole Safeway customers. There are certain customers I will certainly not miss, and knowing I don't have to see them anymore certainly cheers me up. There are a few customers I will miss, but there are more that I won't.
I have tried to make the most of my time away from work. Cleaning, organizing, cooking dinner for my girlfriend on a fairly regular basis. It's given me a chance to clear my head and enjoy not having to work. But I also feel guilty. My roommate and girlfriend both work five days a week and I feel guilty for not working while they are. In this manner I do look forward to a new job and working again, even if it involves helping customers.
Lastly, I am afraid. I'm nervous. I'm anxious. I have social anxiety. I'm good with people I know, but when it comes to strangers and new people, I just crumble. I always second guess what I do or say around new people. Therefore it makes it tough for me to get a new job. I'm anxious that I won't be able to get a job because of this. My anxiety gives me anxiety. I just have to suck it up. I have savings to live off for a bit but not for terribly long. Like I said before, I mostly feel guilty that my roommate and girlfriend are working but I'm not. Here's hoping an employer takes a chance on shy and anxious me, because if they do I will be their hardest working employee. I will not make the same mistakes again.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment